Always on the Go - Lisbon Day 3

BACKBLIP

When I awoke at 5am i picked up phone to put a podcast on to drift off to sleep again, and saw there was a text from Sandra, the elderly owner of Saffy.  She had forwarded on to me a text she received from the Test and Trace as she had tested positive for Covid, and in the text it said that her contacts had to self isolate and take a PCR test!  Jeez, my heart lurched but I was never a close contact of hers, when I was there last Thursday I picked up Saffy, staying at the bottom of her steps and more than 2m from her.  I was a bit annoyed that she included me as a close contact.  Anyway, I was doing sod all about it as that was 5 days ago, I was in Portugal and I would not have caught anything from her!

Ben and I were down for brekkie around 7:30 and then go all packed up and headed for the metro and changing lines again at Almeda, from red to green, heading to Martim Moniz to pick up the tram, again! We LOVE the Lisbon old trams, yes we do!  We weren't first in the line this time so we let the first tram go in order to get a seat on the next one, due in 10 mins.  While waiting the queue got bigger  but we were third in line so all was good for us, this cheeky french couple tried to jump in front of us but I stuck my elbows out, dam no, you are't getting in front of me LOL!

We stayed on to the end of the line this time to Prazares, took this photo, and then wandered down the street to a Cafe for some refreshments, freshly squeezed orange for Ben, and some cake!  Then it was over the street to pick up the No 28 heading back to Martim Moniz but we got off at Figueira to get on the new No 15 tram to Alcantara and walk round to Pilar 7 at the 25 April Bridge, which was closed as the lift was broken yesterday.  What a view from the top, right next to the car lanes on the bridge, and a view to the railway part below it.  The view was fab, right away to Belem and across the Tejo to Christos Rei, beautiful.  We did step on the glass bottom but it just felt wrong to my head!

Headed over to LX Factory again for lunch, sitting outdoors to get a much Vit D as possible :-D

Walked round to corner to get the No 15 tram back to Figueira where we negotiated for an hour on a TUK TUK.  There seems to be many more electric ones now which is good to see and it to be law that every one has to be electric by 2025.  Raphael took us to a couple of the viewpoints, including Graca where I stayed last in 2018.  There was a band playing and it was such a cool vibe sitting there with all of Lisbon spread out below.

After that Ben bought a pair of sunglasses in one of the tourists shops before heading to the metro, as he wanted a swim before our tea.  Turned out the swim lasted quite a while and we ended up eating in the shopping centre food hall getting two big bowls of fruit, yogurt and him cereal and me muesli for our tea, at 830pm!  Anyway, we were once again shattered and we fell into bed around 9:30 and sleeping by 10 am sure.

Another fabulous day with Ben in beautiful Lisbon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.