a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Little muncher

Tiny Tuesday: Little muncher.

There didn't seem to be any flying insects around when I went out to find a Tiny Tuesday macro shot today.  My brother Brentastic (who doesn't live that far away) had managed to find an excellent shot of dragonfly only yesterday so I sort of hoped there might be something still.  Sadly I drew a blank, and despite carefully checking under leaves etc I hadn't come across so much as a snail or an interesting beetle, let alone a dragonfly.

Yet, when I rooted around the flowerbeds at home I came across this tiny caterpillar on one of the very last Japanese anemone flowers.  It really is very small - at most 1 cm long as you can see from the flower itself.  So I don't think its been eating much.  Fortunately it wasn't inclined to go anywhere quickly so I had plenty time to wait for the gentle breeze to abate for a second so that I could actually get it in focus for this shot. 

If you have taken part in the Tiny Tuesday challenge, I hope you've had fun trying to find something small to photograph today.  I will be catching up on your Tiny Tuesday blips during the course of tomorrow and Thursday.  I will update this page with the results once I have done so.

TINY TUESDAY RESULTS:

There were 63 entries in all, that's fewer than last week, but the standard was as high as ever and the choices have been far from easy yet again.  I will be delivering hearts later today and tomorrow.  I had intended to save my hearts for this challenge but an important blip-a-versary entry took one of my hearts, so I do apologise if delivery is slightly delayed.  I won't forget however and all promised hearts will be delivered as soon as I have them.


Favourites:

These are in no particular order:


Beinghere - Lichen, Evernia prunastri  An interesting take on a tiny lichen. The choice of backlighting to show the structure works really well.


Twigs - Bug & Daisy The narrow depth of field on the little flies eyes is superb and makes for a great macro composition. I particularly like the colour contrast between the flies eyes and the daisy.


DawgGal - #55  I just had to laugh when I saw this take on darts.


davidc - Necklace This beautifully focus stacked image provides both beautiful focus and clarity on the subject, and at the same time suitably out of focus elements for the best in both worlds.


CherryR - Tiny Diamonds  Not everyone has a macro lens, but this nicely done phone shot records an important family heirloom.


Honourable Mentions

Once again I've limited myself to just 5 honourable mentions:



suejay50 - Close up and Personal.   Sue's really great macro shot of a Christmas Cactus's reproductive bits - don't be worried this is very classily done indeed.


Chris - Hot Lips. Chris has used a lovely narrow depth of field here perfectly catching the plane of the petal surfaces bejewelled with water drops. 


LesTension  - Nymph  A beautiful macro shot of a fishing fly showing the superb attention to detail involved in crafting these little works of art.


Mangren - The Runaway.  An artfully presented visit to the sewing box and an escaping pin.


sk - bits & bobs  My final honourable mention is something a little different  in the form of a still life composition which I find strangely hypnotic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.