Woman Warrior Wrapping Paper

Ever since Mike built a narrow set of stairs for me to get up to my side of our platform bed, I've wanted to decorate the risers with something beautiful. In Chorlton Bookshop, I saw exactly the right thing - this wrapping paper, designed by Peggy Angus. Knew nothing about her, but delighted to discover she was quite a woman, see here, and for more of her art, here, and even more pleased that she strongly reminds me of my Blip (and real life) friend, Jan, though am sure Jan is a lot less rude, even if every bit as much a warrior.

So, yesterday, I pasted on the paper (not as straightforward as I'd thought), and today, varnished them. And am delighted with the result, gives me a thrill every time I see them. Don't usually put roses on the steps, but wanted to honour my yellow beauties, that I've now severely pruned.

Gratefuls:
- Mike joining me in a no eating day
- a basket full of huge oranges and tangerines that had fallen on the ground while we were away (was there a strong wind?), as well as a load of tomatoes on their last legs which I've made into a garlicky sauce
- varnishing the linen cupboard Mike made, after he'd attached the door (it'll need another coat, as will the risers on my steps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.