Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Water Wall, Houston

I walked to this fountain today from my hotel. I’ve been here before and blipped it, but it’s been a long time! There’s a huge mall nearby but not being much of a shopper, I’ve never been inside (!) and there’s not much else to do around here! So this is a nice little outing. There are also some small lakes with benches nearby in the middle of an office complex so I like to go there too - a little bit of green space in the city!

Water Wall was built in 1985 for the Transco Energy company. The plaque says:

“In its 3 acre setting, 11,000 gallons of water per minute spill over the walls of the 64-foot-high fountain. The gabled archway fronting the fountain, the scaenae frons, is reminiscent of an ancient Roman theatre stage”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.