Marionb

By Marionb

Escape To the Country...

It has been a fun-filled day that started off with a gathering of friends for morning coffee at my  house. 

My friend Pat who had moved to the Maritimes earlier this year, dropped in with her daughter and grand-daughter en route to Toronto for a wedding, and two of my neighbours who have also known her for years joined us. We had a really good visit.....

It was SO nice to see Pat again...we have known each other since 1987 when we both were seconded to TVOntario to work on a science curriculum project. Over the years, we traveled together a lot  - with work, and also on vacations to Europe. I do miss having her nearby...Nova Scotia is a long ways away....but I will try to get down there to visit her soon. 

After everyone departed, I drove to the London area to visit my daughter and SIL who live out in the country.. It is always such a treat to get away from the city and enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside. 

By the time I got there, it was late afternoon and the light was already starting to fade...and alas, I had not yet taken my photo for the day! Fortunately my daughter had a couple of errands to do so I went  along - with my camera - first to a feed store and then to a gourd farm where there were still, even this late in the season, bins of very photogenic pumpkins and gourds.  It was the honour system type of place where you take your pick of the offerings and leave some $ in the box! I just love the "country" way of doing things...

The piece de resistance of our outing though was this sign she pointed out along the way...(extra) ... definitely worth a photo! ...like,  you have to be kidding....I couldn't figure that out by myself? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.