DonnaWanna

By DonnaWanna

The Swans Return!

I was very happy to see a pair of the black swans had returned to the local pond today. Even though I had Jake with me I was determined to try and get a shot of them.

We headed around to the viewing platform and luckily no one else was there. One of the swans headed straight over to us and as she got closer and noticed Jake she gave out a great big hiss!

He was shocked and gave a bit of a bark so I took him back a bit and he calmed down and was quiet. I put my foot on the lead so he couldn't get back to where she could see him and couldn't jerk me around either.

I managed to take heaps of pretty boring photos but my patience was rewarded in the end. After she had spent about 15 minutes thoroughly cleaning and preening herself she flapped those big wings and revealed her white feathers hidden underneath!

I was so excited and couldn't wait to get home and pore over the shots. Jake acted like he had just been freed from jail and we skipped all the way home :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.