OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Otter

There have been more otter sightings recently around the Loch of Stenness so I headed out there today. I walked along the lochside and seemed out of luck, bit on the way back I just caught a glimpse of one from from the corner of my eye. I watched this otter for a while. It was fishing and catching small things, just mouthfuls. I hoped it might catch a sizeable eel which it would have to take ashore, but it landed anyway and I watched for a while. This isn't very sharp as it was at the full extent of the lens (digital equivalent of 600mm). It did notice me, but the path is on the RSPB Brodgar reserve and popular with dog-walkers, though still only 'busy' by Orkney standards, so the otters along here are used to some sightings of people. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.