Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Delight

If yesterday was Eilidh's day, then today has to be Isobel's. Will you look at the joy in her face. Her first ever certificate and she was so thrilled. She has graduated from the snowy owls at skiing and is now in the polar bear class! It was worth standing for an hour in the cold on the hillside at Hillend ski centre. Her mum and I both learned to ski at Hillend, so she is the third generation. I was in 3rd or 4th year of secondary when I learned though We went for at least a term every year from then on. I used to go on a Thursday afternoon on the #11 bus from Trinity, we were out of school for the whole afternoon. We got plastic bus tokens from the school to pay for our travel. I have no memory of one of the teachers from school being there, the class was run by a coach from the ski centre, but there must have been I suppose. The centre was pretty new in those days and just had a single slope and the ski lift but no tow. We collected boots and skis from the hut by the main road, where the car park is, and then walked up the hill with them to the slopes. We were the first generation to experience the medical condition known as Hillend thumb!
Church today and its the last Sunday of the church year, the feast of Christ the King. Next Sunday is the start of the new church year and the first of the four Sundays of Advent. Like many episcopal churches we had our AGM today, all went smoothly and I find that I am now the new People's warden.
I went to Hillend to join Katy and the girls after church then on the way back went on a hunt for marzipan. I've been looking for weeks, I finally found some, ready rolled, in Tesco at Craiglockhart.
Talking of Craiglockhart, when I was at school we studied Wilfred Owen and other WW1 poets - why did nobody tell me that much of Wilfred Owen's work was written while he was in hospital here in Edinburgh I'm sure I would have remembered had I been told. There are so many big gaps in my general knowledge at times. Having said that I do have a head which is full of useless information.
When I got home it was almost time for dinner, we had some of the ham I'd baked the other day, cold, with a honey glaze and very tasty it was too. After dinner we watched the 5th episode of Shetland, it filled in a lot of gaps for us.

Be careful everyone, I find it concerning that Blackhall still has the highest number of cases in Edinburgh. Stay safe, I'm doing my best to do so.

I obviously had too much time on my hands today as I ended up top of my section of the diamond league in Duo lingo again, they seem to have introduced these incentive pictures, so like Isobel, I was smiling. . (Extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.