Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Three's trouble!

What a beautiful morning I woke to today, blazing sunshine and so still. I anticipated spending time working in the garden... Huh! by the time I'd finished breakfast it was coming down in stair rods and the wind was blowing a hooley! Two hours later it was sunny again but by the time we'd finished lunch the rain was back and the wind was whistling down the chimney.
I managed to make a quick sortie out and went to the gift ship down the road to exchange a Christmas necklace which wasn't flashing as it should and to pick up two flashing Christmas fairy light hats for the girls... as one does!
On the way back I took the long route and passed these three squirrels positively ecstatic as they gathered acorns under one of the oak trees in the park. I presume the high winds had brought lots down. They were scampering across the grass then darting up the tree to hide their loot, looking very picturesque as they did so, perching in the trees showing off their white stomachs and thick curly tails. Not staying still long enough for a picture though!

I was suffering numbers withdrawal yesterday when all the covid data appeared as bar charts but with no accompanying data. It was alright though, the figures were back again today.
I realise that I am a real numbers person. My favourite subjects at school were arithmetic and statistics, both of which I got top bands at O grade for, only to find out to my distress that neither was a higher subject. I was useless at maths and theoretical stuff just give me good solid numbers and facts to crunch. I'm an excellent estimator too.
This was of course in the pre calculater and computer days of the late 60's, we used the most wonderful adding machines to perform the most complex calculations. We had to turn a handle to rotate the disks and pegs in a complex combination of forwards and backwards patterns. It was deafening being in the statistics classroom, fortunately only about 10 of us did the subject!

On another short of number, the covid numbers are still going down in Edinburgh thank goodness, let's keep going. Keep safe everybody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.