Solitary

Monday turned out to be a stimulating and demanding day of work-from-home.

Much of what I had to do involved the anti-vax, anti-mask, anti-everything sub culture, so I guess some a-hole has been putting the word out on Facebook. Usually we can tell - the same wording used by several simpletons, clearly cut and pasted. 

It is disappointing when you find a national supermarket chain like [name redacted] pandering to them. They do not let you buy a bottle of wine at 9am. It is illegal. They do not let you smoke inside their premises. It is illegal. Why do they think it is OK to let staff and customers not wear masks? It is illegal. 

I hope someone makes a claim against them, and then they will find they have invalidated their insurance. 

Some of the stimulation came from a hilarious phone call with the Manager, the butt of our humour being the Boss and one of my colleagues, the latter having phoned in sick for the umpteenth Monday. 

My lunch break was a mixture of stimulation and reflection. I have just about embedded the habit of going to the church cafe to get me out of the house on Mondays. The volunteers who serve the food have got into the habit of chatting away with me when I come in and on my way out, and that interaction certainly helps me.

I imagine they also enjoy being back into the routine of what they do after the place was shut for over a year, but the customer footfall is much lower and so they are stuck with my (unintended) impersonations of Victor Meldrew to keep them amused. 

Just sitting having having lunch in that pleasant and calm environment is therapeutic. The soup was good too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.