Sketchbook

New sketchbook.

I bought these in a sale 20 years ago. Full price was £1.20 then, and I got them for 10p each. I had a couple of pounds to spare so I got the lot...

It is a cartridge paper, but not recycled cartridge paper like my last sketchbook I did those wonky trees on. I have googled and I am still able to buy more of that previous recycled cartridge paper which seems to be the only paper I can get which will do those trees like that. But I am looking for a bargain on eBay...

So, new sketchbook - Daler Rowney (spellcheck keeps changing this to Rodney...).
160 gsm/90lbs cartridge paper.

A fine black pen which loves to change into purples once water is applied.
This is just two pages of messing. I took the photo of the tree while it was still wet and it has morphed into something different while I have been writing this...it definitely has potential for something mystical.  Popeye is done with the same black pen, but not water applied.

Now with this paper I can do the idea of the wet brush to move the water, runs of paint, and along the edges of the black lines I draw to create a shaded effect.

The only thing I don't like about this sketchbook is that the pages are stapled, and it is very difficult to open up flat to either paint or take a photograph. But I have had them that long that the staples are beginning to go a wee bit rusty n the centre pages. So, I think it is time to use them up!

I will be experimenting with this black pen and the other black pens over the next however long...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.