Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

Ely cathedral again

My head is still in Ely so thought I’d blip this one looking west from the choir section (forgotten the name) and looking towards the incredible octagon, which is the cathedral’s defining image. The two black shapes in the octagon indicate there’s a tour going on up there, two painted panels are removed for a high-rise view of the interior in what to me would be a big nauseating no-no. The white dot in the right panel space is a visitor looking out. It was hard not to shout “Get away from the edge!” Made me feel quite queasy looking up.

The first extra is a slightly enhanced closeup which isn’t as sharp as the main. The two heads adorn either side of the oldest entrance, they’re Norman I think and quite captivating. They’ve seen a lot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.