Idling

Sometimes getting rest poses a challenge in Mozambique. From 4am a car was idling loudly two metres from my window, making sleep impossible. A group of people was preparing to leave the hotel, but they weren’t making speedy or quiet work of it.

I was shattered by the time cafés opened and I could seek strong coffee. After some work I was picked up by colleagues from Chimanimani National Park, making their way back from the city to the bush. I slung my rucksack next to a very wet box of ‘whole round sea frozen horse mackerel’. I anticipated my possessions becoming drenched in putrefying fish juice given that even before 7am when I strode out to find coffee, the sun had been mighty strong.

A flat tyre and replacement somewhere along the way delayed us around two hours, and it was a relief to arrive in the Park, after well over two years since I’ve been able to visit. Our intention is to help the government co-manage it, and it will require us to ramp up our efforts hugely.

I was reunited with my old pal Antonio who is now working here as the Biodiversity Officer. I noted he enjoys listening to Phil Collins as he showers, so if I didn’t think he was great already, this sealed it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.