Glorious Beech

I was supposed to be joining a small group of Langdyke Trust volunteers on a visit to Bainton Pits to firm up some management proposals, but as I approached the site the l realised that the level crossing was closed, meaning there was no entry. Luckily a couple of the others were already parked nearby and waved at me. Once we'd all arrived we decided it would be better to have our meeting at the Torpel Hut - not as much fun but maybe more productive!

After the meeting I walked round Rice Wood, just south of Helpston. There's a Beech plantation at the northern end which was looking very spectacular with the low winter light shining through the leaves. I also spotted a new grove of Wild Service trees, which don't seem to have been recorded previously. This species is always most easily spotted in November - for the rest of the year it can be surprisingly cryptic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.