The lovely server Shirley, (rhs).

I went to see my friend Bobbie (on the left) this afternoon.
She had a stroke three years ago this month which took her speech.
When I first saw her in the hospital in Sandwell she was immaculately dressed and with her customary bling, and make up.
I was so pleased to see her well.
Until she spoke. And I couldn’t understand a word she was saying. She was in hospital over two and a half weeks.
Over these three years it has improved but hit a plateau.
This photo is where we meet ( regularly until the lockdowns). I have encouraged her to order our coffees and cakes at the counter over that time, getting her to try and repeat what I say and remember the table number. Some days are better than others. Understanding written words is difficult too at times.
She has done so well in some respects, but today not so good.
Shirley the lovely patient server has also encouraged her to try and say “two cappuccinos” each time we go to the counter. (She has managed it once or twice) And shown her the cake labels, so she could try and read those. There is always a delectable display in the cabinets by the tills.
She was ok making purchases by cash, relying on people to give her the correct change, and take the right amount of money, and just pointing to whichever cake she preferred
But the problem is they don’t do that now due to Covid and it’s card only.
She hasn’t got one. And her two daughters who both live and work in London, think she is too much at risk from spending large amounts unknowingly if she had one.
(I’ve had conversations with them both on WhatsApp).
They take it in turns each alternate weekend to drive up. Not easy when they both have young children under 5 years old.
So here is the lovely, bubbly, patient, encouraging Shirley with Bobbie this afternoon, as we hadn’t been able to meet up except once, during the period the family were staying with us the last two months for various reasons.
Shirley was wearing a top with pictures of Christmas decorations on it, and the words:
“Nice Baubles”
Made me laugh!
She would brighten anyone’s day. :-)
She gave Bobbie a big hug just as we were leaving.
Off went Bobbie to get into her car to drive home.
It fascinates me that she can do that but her speech doesn’t compute.
The mind is such an amazing piece of intricacy. One part being able to function even when another is damaged.
My sister who had a bad stroke aged 56 in 2009, had to learn over several weeks of hospitalisation and rehabilitation, how to walk again.
But she told me she would rather lose part of her mobility than lose her speech, if she was given a choice, when I told her about Bobbie awhile back.
It makes me so thankful to have all my faculties, and independence for however long that will continue.
And a Happy Thanksgiving to all the American blippers today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.