Giving Thanks

There isn't near enough space here for me to enumerate all that I'm thankful for! But I will mention that I'm thankful for butterflies in late November! This Cloudless Sulphur was one of several working the red sage this morning. Yesterday I posted an interesting, at least to me, photo of an native Aster that looked...different. Well, I've done a bit more reading and found that:
"Flower heads are made up of 1) petal-like ray flowers that can vary in color from white to pink to blue to purple and 2) tubular disk flowers that are usually yellow. In some species, as many as 300 disk florets can be tightly packed into the circular flower head. The disk flowers are perfect (bisexual with male and female structures) and are fertile. In some species, the ray flowers are pistillate (female) flowers that can be pollinated and produce fruits, while in other species the ray flowers may be sterile." Piedmont Master Gardeners, Susan Martin August 2020-Vol 6 No.8  And so who knew? Probably many out there, of which I am now one. I 'believe' that I've identified these as Symphyotrichum lanceolatum, in the family Asteraceae, native to North America. It's common name(s) include panicled aster, lance-leaved aster, and white panicled aster. Whew! Well now, that was 'fun'!  Even though perhaps...TMI. (who me?  ;)
A very Joyous Thanksgiving to You and Yours!
m

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.