The Phoenix Rises

By sheilaM

Pegged

I was given these wooden clothes pegs yesterday by my parents.

The note with them reads;

24.5.1976

Made at Candiehead by my father, owing to a shortage during the 1939-1945 war. I have used them continually since then until now. I do not know where the rest of them went.



These pegs have been turned and carved from spare bits of wood by my Great, Great Grandfather. Some are worn to a polish, with use.
I remember my Great Aunt Helen using them. She has been dead for many years, but obviously knew the value these pegs. They may be worthless, but to me they are priceless.

Aunt Helen was more like my Grandmother. She worked very hard to help my parents go to work, while private childcare was unheard of. She cleaned and fed us a cooked lunch during the week, with our favourite fish and chips on a Friday. The story goes that she peeled and chipped a stone (14lbs) of potatoes one Friday, to see if she could finally fill up the 5 of us, but of course we all managed to squeeze them in and finish the lot,(especially my brothers). All cooked in tasty lard of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.