Marionb

By Marionb

Red Alert!

Well, isn't that special? I have been keeping an eye on my bird feeders lately hoping to see the male cardinal..the female has been and has already been blipped..and here, just when I am immersed in everything red, comes Mr. Cardinal in all his vibrant crimson glory! 

I would normally apologize for the not-sharply-focused photo, but the elements were against me..distance, a pocket camera, high winds blowing the feeder, snow in the air, and rather jittery birds...almost frantically trying to feed and find shelter before the weather worsens...

Winter is upon us; my sister sent photos today of her back yard in snow deep enough to warrant the snow plow company coming to clean out her driveway! And then my daughter called from the road to say she was driving through an unexpected blizzard to meet a friend for lunch.... Here, we only had snow in the air today...none on the ground..but the forecast for Sunday doesn't look good..so I got out my winter parka and boots...

I am so glad the cardinal dropped by late today as I had nary a photo to blip. I was focused on other things today - hanging Christmas/winter wreaths ( 6 of them), decorating the mantle, sewing a border on my blue quilt, getting the the family calendars that arrived from the printer yesterday wrapped for Christmas and ready to be mailed or delivered... and finishing yet another novel!  Check everything off THAT list.. Done! 

A reward is in order. No chocolate in the house, so a glass of wine will have to do.... by the fire..with my cat...whilst I await my latest Amazon delivery, which will be a reward in itself...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.