Backpack TopherHack

By TopherHack

Canine to Five

Not happy with today's shot, but as per busy Mondays, it's the only snap I managed to take today.
It's a tall, strange-looking chimney that rises from the garden of an old house in my neighbourhood. I'm not fully sure of its original use - whether it was for outdoor cooking, something to do with a traditional Korean heated floor, or simply ornamental. Either way I've never seen it smoke and don't think it's in use today.
The blossom is finally blooming all over the city, although there's still a bit of a nip in the air. A lot of people seem to think spring and autumn are getting shorter, and Korea may be slowly heading towards a climate resembling one long winter followed by one long summer.

I grabbed today's shot before work this morning, whilst trying to confirm some slightly depressing news. When I blipped about this little soldier the other day, I mentioned that although she spends her days chained up outside, she at least gets to go home with the shop owner each evening - hopefully getting to run around in his house.
When my wife read the blip though, she told me the dog actually spends each night alone in the shop, so early this morning I went to investigate. Sure enough, the poor sausage spends each night on a concrete floor, tied up inside the tiny ramshackle hardware shop. It must be incredibly cold in there in winter, and even worse, the summer months must be unbearable. There's a big gap under the door, so I slid her a few snacks to chew on as her tail wagged so hard I thought she might lose it.
It's hard not to admire the steadfast desire for love, fun and affection these creatures give out, in spite of what we 'civilized' humans sometimes put them through..


'A dog wags its tail with its heart'
- Martin Buxbaum

__________________________________________________

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.