helenann

By helenann

Bananarama

After my Covid booster vaccination  yesterday, this morning I felt ok apart from a slight headache and tiredness. Managed to catch up with some emails and had a reassuring, remote, computer session with  local Computer Solutions company to ensure I have adequate virus protection and  back up on my laptop. 
Pretty showery  and cold outdoors so I haven't ventured out. 
My  tropical, rather than topical, blip is of my banana plant. She spends most of the time indoors but in the summer was out on the patio on fine days. She is a Musa acuminata "Dwarf Cavendish" cultivar. Apparently, back in 1834 a batch of these plants (which had originated in SE Asia) were bought by William Cavendish,  6th Duke of Devonshire. His Head Gardener, Sir Joseph Paxton, cultivated them in greenhouses at Chatsworth House in Derbyshire, before sending  suckers around  the world, including eventually to the Canary Islands. Here Edward Fyffe saw an export opportunity  and started shipping the bananas to London.  This cultivar has  continued to be an important commercially grown banana throughout the world. In theory,  my plant  could flower and produce fruit one day. (It is called dwarf because  of the  short pseudo stem,but could grow to 3 metres high). Unfortunately the Cavendish cultivar is threatened by  a strain of the fungal infection , Fusarium Wilt,  which is spreading globally. So, we mustn't take our bananas for  granted!        
As today has progressed I have felt more fatigued so it is going to be an early bedtime.
This afternoon I finished reading Monica Ali's "Brick Lane" novel, which I have enjoyed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.