Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Riding the Storm

I wish I could say I’m feeling absolutely wonderful today, but these aches and pains seem to be hanging on. Still, I really feel I must get out and photograph the stormy seas today. We’ve come off lightly in terms of storm damage - just a bay tree toppled over - but it’s certainly been a wild night and many trees are down around the town.  

In terms of towering waves hitting the prom or breakwater, I’m out of luck as the tide will not be high for some time yet. Still, we head for the Little Orme, and at Angel Bay the seas are wild, seals nowhere to be seen.  The air is thick with spray, my lens soaked almost as soon as I’ve cleared it. And on the headland I’m standing in full force of the wind, bracing myself against the gusts. The wind’s power is frightening.

Over the rough seas, a flock of cormorants fly past, battling against the wind. It’s hard to hold the lens steady - and of course, a tripod would have no chance - but I do my best to get both birds and sea in focus, and this is today’s main - as usual, much better viewed large! 

In extras, there are other shots of stormy seas - and a final shot taken from my MIL’s flat where I’ve spent the afternoon, of a snow-topped Snowdon catching the setting sun.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.