A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Foxy

MrsP deserves the credit for today’s unique and exciting blip. I was in the Laundry Area when she hurriedly whispered “Come Quick, Come Quick”. I dropped what I was doing and swiftly moved to look out the front door. Would it be the wild turkey I watched yesterday evening? Or, perhaps, a group of deer was moving through the woods near our house? • I took a quick peek, grabbed my camera, and together we watched this juvenile fox eating up the peanuts I had scattered under the lilac trees for the bluejays and squirrels, shells and all. It was difficult getting any photos because, for one, I had the wrong lens, but unfortunately he remained mostly hidden behind the outdoor Christmas tree and a patio chair. Out of many taken, I’m pleased with two keepers • We know he’s a fox, and we have seen red fox here in previous years, but this one is a bit different, and seemed smaller, almost cat-like. Thus, we assumed juvenile, but gray fox are moving further north into central Maine, so could this be one? If anyone knows, please share! • Thankfully Newt had just come into the house. Yesterday before sundown I found her on the step trying to keep her distance from the hungry turkey. One never knows what might stop by :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.