First snow of the winter

Woke up this morning to a world covered in snow. I only went for a little walk for toileting purposes first thing and it was absolutely freezing. The plan was....................... to have breakfast and then go out for a couple of hours because Ann was working 12-4pm today and she knew it would be too dark to take me anywhere exciting when she got home.

Best laid plans and all that. Ann said, 'Trixie all our long dog walking routes are going to be either too icy or too muddy. Let's just go to the park.' So that is what we did.

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE snow. As soon as I got let off my lead I went zooming around in 'excited mode' and every now and again I stopped to have a roll around on my back. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE rolling around on my back in the snow. I was all happy & bouncy and I had such a lovely time in the snowy park.

The only trouble with going out today was........................... practically every single doggie that I played with was wearing a coat. I haven't got a coat because Ann doesn't really agree with doggies wearing coats. I've got a Christmas sweater but I don't really like that?!  She says our fur should keep us warm. And surely, if I was cold, I'd be sensible enough not to lie down in cold snow and roll around?

There again, Ann's mother never, ever, let her wear tights as a child (this was in the days when girls didn't wear trousers to school) and she distinctly remembers her 'so called friends' telling her that her mother didn't care about her if she didn't want her to be warm???!!! Her mother definitely did care about her.  Ann remembers going to school in snow in the 1960/70s wearing a skirt & socks. She wasn't allowed to wear tights until half way through secondary school when she was about 14/15 years old. Haven't a clue what the opposition to tights was, but Ann had huge fights with her mother about it......................... Oh well, ho hum, at least all the fighting paved the way for her little sister to be allowed to wear tights in primary school.

Is it the same thing? Traditionally dogs never needed coats because they were used to being outdoors and had built up resistance to cold weather. Now we're a lot more pampered and domesticated. However, Ann still thinks I wouldn't be choosing to lie down in the snow and roll around on my back if it were too cold for me.

Anyway, I had a lovely time at the park and when Ann came home from work just after 4pm I trekked around the streets on my lead for half an hour. It was cold!!!

Happy Sunday Evening Blippers. xxx

Edit - Apparently it's another Blip Birthday.  11 years (4015 photos) of Blipping.  Who would ever have thought my human would have lasted this long?????????????????

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.