Double Take

I like the blip challenges, but sometimes the theme seems beyond me. So it was going to be today, but I seems to have managed my first ever double exposure, and to my eyes it looks OK. Thanks to Carolina for hosting.

We went into Manchester for our haircuts this morning. This is always a trip which J finds really stressful. She does not feel at all comfortable in a centre where there are people around. The salon is in a relatively quiet area and not far from the car park. There are no other customers there, we know the staff well and they know our circumstances, they are masked and there is full ventilation. So it’s about as safe as it can be. But these are nevertheless really unnerving times for the immuno-suppressed.

My cut is simple and quick, so I went out for a walk. The Manchester Civic Quarter Heat Network is now in operation, and smoke was emerging from the flues which sit above the Energy Centre adjoining Manchester Central. The shield around the flues is striking - it would be good to see it at night when it is lit up. It’s all part of the City Council’s plan to cut carbon and reach a net zero position. I have put an image of the structure in its context in extras. Also there is an image of a new mural on the side of an old chimney above the Old Nags Head. The landlord must be a Manchester United fan, nostalgic for the “good old days”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.