Caring

Dad's transfer to the Care home went well this morning.  He arrived there at about 11 am and I went to see him early afternoon taking a big bag of clothes and photos for him.  He was sorting out his TV and had already had a look around and lunch when  i got there.  He was worried that one of his bags had gone missing somehow but that was soon sorted and everything was there.  It was a little chaotic to start with but soon settled down once Keeley arrived.  She had to take an inventory of all his possessions in his room so together we worked to sort through his clothes, check the name tags, label slippers and other things, take photos of some and put some of his framed pictures on the window ledge.  Then we had to go through some paperwork together and met some of the other members of staff.  All a bit overwhelming to start with but we did most of it apart from some stuff I have brought home to read properly.  There is a booklet of questions to fill in to help the staff get to know more about Dad.  I will go through that with him next time I visit.  A few covid testing hoops to jump through every week for me to be his main visitor.  It seems a bit complicated at the moment but I am sure it will all become clear eventually.  When I left, Dad had just been served cakes and a cup of tea.  He was looking very comfortable.  You can see him and some of his room in extras.

I felt exhausted when I got home.  I think it will all be ok.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.