and through the wire...

By hesscat

The Other Side

I thought I'd better blip early as we have other things on our plate. While Mrs C went off to fill up the jerry can and get lunch, I fast walked Arlo around Gore Glen... I've blipped this weir recently, but whatevs.

We'd received a text before lunch from SP Energy asking if we wanted a hotel until power was restored. Given we have 2 cats and one dog, it seemed one of us could take the option, so I texted them back. Let it be noted, just like Tom in TV's Succession (what? you are not watching it? why not?, not a character to like but we love 'em - best TV eva they say, we agree, wait where was I?) yeah, ok just like Tom, I took one for the team.

Around 4pm, SP turned up saying they were turning off the little power we had so they could begin work on poles that were down, downstream and could not estimate when power would come back - whit, cut those wires and give us your power suckas! They turned the power off... so it's genny or nenny now, it's been running since noon.

In the evening, SP called to ask what our hotel requirements were, 2 people, 1 dog, 2 cats... hmmm.. did I push my luck... but if the genny blows, that would be our only option. They said they were already taking requests for pet friendly hotels, but I can't imagine that's feasible close to home-ish, but we'll see.

So very soon, before bed, I need to switch it off, it's like turning off life support and hoping we can shake it into life tomorrow... eek. See you the other side blipsters!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.