Blue Planet Photography

By blueplanetphoto

The goose that laid the golden egg

Went on the second half of the goose survey this morning at my local wildlife refuge. Previous photo is on April 4. Went to a different area than last month. Found a lot of nests that had been abandoned whereas the other area experienced a lot of predation. The nests are on islands in the Snake River. This nest here is viable, eggs are warm and there was a goose incubating.

I bought a "new" book yesterday at my favorite used bookstore; "Polaroid Land Photography" by Ansel Adams. In it is a quote, well, paraphrase, that Ansell Adams repeats, credited to Alfred Stieglitz, regarding photography as a "communication from one human being to others" and the creative process in general.

The paraphrase from Stieglitz is

"I go into the world as a photographer. I desire to make a photograph. I come across some aspect of the world that interests me emotionally or aesthetically. I see the image I desire in my mind's eye and I compose and expose accordingly. I give you the photograph as the equivalent of what I saw and felt"

This is the description I've been trying to develop myself for many years, how to explain the difference between my internal and external process of creating a photograph and the viewer's response to that photograph. The photograph is not the same thing as having someone standing next to you at the time of its creation, it is the equivalent of being there, interpreted by the photographer to help the viewer respond in a similar way, as if they were there. It is up to the viewer to make up their own mind about the photograph and what it means to them.

Ansell goes on to say the photograph "...clarifies without imposing concepts or dogmas, suggesting that photography is a strictly personal expression and also relates to the world. It is centrifugal, an outward flow of force, not centripedal."

The responsibility of the photographer is to create a photograph that accurately represents his/her emotional and personal expression of that particular moment in time. The rest is out of the photographer's realm of influence.

Turns out I have the same sensibilities as Stieglitz when it comes to viewers of my photographs. If a viewer of my photographs is inspired to go out to see or photograph what they see in my art then, besides potential sales of that piece, I am satisfied that the photograph is a successful image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.