On an evening paddle

Back north after finishing working remotely for the day, early enough to have a run along the edge of Southend at almost full tide, before circling back on the streets. My attention was caught by a young man paddle-boarding, before I headed away from the water and up the hill.

Absolutely delighted with the great buzzing in the big Pohutukawa, made by the bees. This was the sound of the summer months when I was younger. The volume of noise from the bees is such that I suddenly realised how silent our recent summers have been. I just hope this is a sign for the future. (S is on a Zoom meeting of one of her Poetry groups, and a fellow member happened to comment that in recent weeks he has had five swarms of bees on his rural property, and they have been collected and relocated by an apiarist.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.