In Hollywood Avenue

A day of zoom and emails. Must set up some clinical assessments with the registrar. When all of that was done with, I went for a short jog in the near vicinity; which involved going along a street called Hollywood Avenue. It was shorter than I had envisaged it being, and it had circled back to very near to the A-Frame.

Then I got a phone call. Partly because I am responsible for the proper use of the provisions of the Mental health Act in my DHB. Partly because the caller thought I could help him with some difficult clinical and ethical decisions. I had just finished helping him to make the decisions he needed to make, when I was approached by someone who recognised me; as I did her.

Fifteen to twenty years ago, we had worked together when she was manager of a service, for young persons with psychotic illness, and I was chair of the management committee. Our paths then diverged, only to come together again when I rejoined Auckland DHB and she was one of the clinical leaders. She then left to go to a neighbouring DHB, where she remains. 

It was a serendipitous meeting, in which I discovered that her home is no more than 100 m from the A-Frame, on the other side of the road. We stood talking across the road from this creation which is my blip for today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.