Voyage of a Beagle & Lab

By Inez

Bank Holiday Meander

Big plans made for our Bank Holiday but after a very busy weekend we all failed to get our lazy butts out of bed at a respectable hour and remained in holiday gear with no sense of urgency to get ourselves out of the house! We fell back on plan B and made our way to Callander and one of our favourite walks out to the Bracklinn Falls. On our way to the Falls a family with a Jack Russell and two large, hairy dogs came towards us - ever the cautious, wee beagle, Coco stopped, hackles raised and omitted one, very low warning rumble - just because you have the advantage of numbers, don't mess with me. The woman scooped up the Jack Russell and muttered about unsociable dogs and flounced by, the two large hairies came by and growled and the children put their noses in the air and looked the other way! Ever the over protective mother I had to check with the other, did she call my dog unsociable - my beloved little Coco, who for all her faults could never be called unsociable, my little Coco on whom it has often been remarked hasn't met a dog she doesn't get on with! It would appear that she had indeed - well, you will be relieved to know that I was so shocked shock and a fear of the large hairies that I didn't chase after her and put her right but you can tell that it has been bothering me and I was in need of a good wee rant to get it out of my system!
We did have a fantastic walk but not up the Crags as D wished - I told him that I didn't think my reduced lung efficiency would cope causing the children to be torn between hoping that I made a full recovery and ever having to make the exhausting ascent again. No snow today - yeah, but despite the sun still bitterly cold, can't really complain, as long as it stays dry for the hols I'm sure we'll get lots done!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.