The mysterious book

A drizzly old day today so I'm indoors doing my calendar. I got it finished this morning and ordered. You would never think it so hard to find 13 reasonable pictures!

Now it's choosing images for our next competition - it's one that we judge ourselves, usually when we have our Christmas dinner, tho' we won't be having that this year. The competition is called 'Subtle Humour' tho' sometime the humour is less than subtle! It's the one competition in the year when photographic skill isn't being judged!

So it's an indoor Blip today. A few days ago I was puzzling over this book - unusually I haven't recorded on my book database where I bought it! 'The Mysterious Document' doesn't even have the author's name on the cover - it's by that little-known author, Jules Verne! It's in almost perfect condition too and was priced at 50p! It was published by Ward, Lock and Co., Ltd in what they called The Rainbow Series. It's not dated but it has a label in the front saying that it was a Second Prize at the 'Martyrs' Parish Church Sabbath School', awarded to Kate Wilson and dated 1897-1898. There's also a pristine Ward, Lock bookmark, advertising their 'Windsor Magazine. 

It's lovely to see a book in such original condition and getting on for 125 years old! A good 50p worth, I think. It begins in the imaginary 'Malcolm Castle', near Luss on Loch Lomond, and is the first of a three-book series.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.