I am camera

By Martinski

While looking for something else, I found this...

... in my scapbook. Three or four years ago when I was an Oxfam volunteer, I got involved in an Oxjam concert. The idea of Oxjam, was to put on a gig to raise money for Oxfam, a charity that was already involved with music. I worked with a buddy to put the concert on. I'd never been a promotor before, but I really enjoyed doing it.

My buddy said that a girl who'd worked in the shop called Saffron, was an accomplished Gaelic singer. She was a Godsend, because there was a danger that we'd mainly be old fogies.  She was wonderful and and got the night off to a great start. The Inverness Courier rightly decided that she was more photogenic than the two organisers (Bottom left.) We got about thirty people, but felt that this was just a marker for the following year. Alas we didn't do it again because my friend dropped out for personal reasons, and I didn't want to do it alone. Now that feels like a great shame. I'm often asked if I'd work in the shop again. No. But I'd do Oxjam if there was some support for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.