NHS Scotland

I know it’s not terribly British to talk about your health issues, but I’m going to do it anyway. Today I attended the Urology Department at Raigmore Hospital. I’d been having some waterworks issues, and also some above average prostate function tests.  I had a physical examination and an ultrasound scan today, but neither was conclusive. The practitioner was very helpful. She basically asked me what my concerns were. I was forthright enough to say, ‘prostate cancer,’ as this was what my GP had flagged up. With the information she had gleaned, she said that there did seem to be a small abnormality, but that the chances of it being an aggressive cancer were quite low. She wanted me to get an MRI scan to check things further. We must have chatted for quite a while, and I really appreciated that time. I was very impressed. If this is the NHS in Scotland, we should be very grateful for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.