Repolho

Cabbage.

Which is one of our standard dishes here. Boiled and drenched in oil. Today I found myself day-dreaming about cheesy lasagne.

This morning I woke up to weaver bird nests scattered on the ground outside the window, and pools of water on the floor of the scout block where I have a room. There must have been strong winds and rain in the night.

Thanks to a partner from the Park who papped me, I was to be found on a rock desperately trying to get signal so I could find out news from our project in north Mozambique, following recent events. The project’s main camp was quiet overnight but one of the remote villages within the confines of our project area was in the midst of being attacked when I managed to speak to our project lead. I tried to track these events all day and generally my back view was more serene than my front. By the end of the day the population had fled in fear and the attackers had burnt key buildings but we didn’t have reports of casualties. This implies the attackers wanted to make a statement to the more powerful people in the village and the government more generally, rather than go on a murderous rampage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.