GracieG

By GracieG

Not Quite What I Expected

I made the mistake of not checking out the NT Blickling website before I went there today.  I rather naively thought that as it was still November that I might get to visit the house before the Christmas decorations went up.  I also hadn't realised that despite being a member, I was supposed to book a ticket.  I was fortunate that the lovely steward on the gate let me in as they said they weren't too busy.

Many of the usual areas of the house weren't open and those that were had been decorated for Christmas.  I thought it a bit too early to post a Christmas themed blip (after all it is still November...just), so I've chosen a photo of one of the very few tables not covered in yuletide glitz. 
 
It was very pretty and well done but I had wanted to photograph the usual interiors in preparation for an upcoming competition at our camera club.  In addition, all the lighting was very low and so photographing hand-held wasn't easy and of course tripods aren't allowed.  With hindsight, I should have gone in October.  It may not have suited me today but the volunteers had made the rooms look very magical and I'm sure the visitors will very much enjoy their visit.

The extra is for all those who enjoy a bit of 'welly-wanging'!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.