lrjlo - Suburban Explorer

By lrjlo

Egyptian gosling

A nice discovery today. I was struggling to get moving and do anything with my day, my bed was just too comfy, but I finally went out at about 3:30pm and my effort was rewarded when I met this little family. I've seen the pair a lot but not seen them with chicks before. A passer by told me they had two but seem to have lost one, which is sad. I hope they manage to bring this one up successfully. They were very aggressive to a duck which dared to land in their pond - one parent chased it into the air and kept following quite a way, but they didn't seem too bothered by people being around.

On a less positive note, I saw a couple with two young children by Carshalton Ponds who had brought FOUR loaves of Morrisons value white bread to feed the ducks with. They even have signs up urging people not to feed bread to the ducks and suggesting alternative foods to bring but people don't take any notice. They just keep throwing the bread regardless of whether anything is eating it and often the empty bag seems to end up in the pond too.

Back to work tomorrow. Bleh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.