It's time for Saffron Buns!

Today I returned to baking after quite a long break. Jan had been requesting my saffron buns for a week or two now, even buying a packet of kvarg a week ago as a prompt. (I used to use thick yoghurt.) So when I felt fully recovered from the after-effects of vaccination I decided it was time to get started.
Yesterday I mixed the flour, kvarg, sour milk, and a little salt and left that to sit overnight. Today I added saffron, sugar, some soured cream and yeast, and proceeded as usual.  I've made a note in my recipe to watch the first batch particularly carefully as they nearly always seem to get over-baked. You can see the first batch are around the edges in this picture!
Like many seasonal activities I always seem to get going about the same time of year. Last year I baked my first batch on the 3 December.
We did a few other things today but baking was definitely the main item for me. It even replaced my daily walk, but when the days are this short, and you've got an evening activity you can't do everything!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.