Spindle - past its best

We've had a long day in the garden, getting quite wet in the process.  We have folks coming in the morning to take photos for the sales particulars, and since the garden is one of the selling points, it needs to look as good as possible (given the time of year).  W mowed all the grass, picking up many oak leaves in the process.  I dragged a good deal of weed out of the pond, and then used a net to get as many of the oak leaves as possible out of there.  We still have a netting over the rill - we'll need to remove that tomorrow morning, along with the many leaves on it, so that they can take photos of one of the best features in the garden.

I then pulled up a few quite a lot of weeds, and sorted out the mess that next door's cats had made of the woodshed - knocking logs and kindling onto the floor when attempting to use it as a way of getting over the fence.  When weeding alongside the hedge, I noticed that one of the spindle plants that we put in a few years ago has finally produced some berries - I've missed them when they were at their best.   I then cleared the patio of the debris from yesterday's activities, and swept it as clean as possible.  

By this time I'd had enough of getting wet, had a shower and my lunch, then tackled some cleaning and clearing in the house.  W meanwhile valiantly pressed on in the rain, clearing one of the raised beds of the dead bean plants.

By 4.00 it was starting to get dark, and we were shattered.  I was supposed to go to flute choir this evening, but I'm just too tired.  And there's still some tidying to do in the lounge. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.