Festive airport

One for the series on "Christmas trees in odd (perhaps even inappropriate) places"... On the baggage carousel???

Even staying in the airport hotel, we have had a long day. I'd made one good choice, though. We had enough Finnair points to upgrade our flights in one direction, and I went for the return leg, because I was expecting to be very busy in the afternoon. Well, that was until we were required to self-isolate on return to await our PCR test results...

But it helped us get through the airport, which was surprisingly busy, because the queues for Finnair priority to register our COVID documentation and get through security were much less than in the non-priority parts of the airport. Furthermore, as we hadn't really eaten after lunchtime yesterday and didn't have time for breakfast in the hotel or the airport, we were pretty hungry when we got on the flight, so the breakfast thrown in with business class was quite welcome (and surprisingly good). The only bad thing about the flight was that it was rather cold.

The flat was also pretty cold, so we've had the heating on most the day. Washing was put on, and email was caught up with. We had to go out again mid afternoon, to get our COVID PCR tests at a "drive through" facility in Livingston. It took us 2 hours 15 minutes to drive there, get tested, and get back here. Timewise, it makes more sense to do a test by post, but this was the best way to get a quick result. Hopefully we will have the result within 24 hours, and hopefully also it will be negative.... Fingers crossed.

Anyway, we are both having a warming dram before an early night. I signed us up to SMWS the other day. I really do need to get to like whisky.... It's such a warming winter drink. I'll do my best this year :--) I mean...tastes can change. A few years ago, you would never have got me drinking neat gin, and now that's one of my tipples of choice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.