Hungry (but not exactly skinny...)

The flourishing local squirrel population has been reduced to chewing on the unripe (and never to ripen) figs on our tree. These are the ones that I should have finished picking off in October, leaving only the tiniest ones to over-winter and then ripen next year.  The figs are sappy inside and pretty nasty;  those squirrels are feeling hungry in the cold weather, despite looking quite well-padded. As I write this, I am wondering whether it might be best to leave some of these large, unripe fruits on the tree... perhaps that might distract the squirrels from the tiny ones that we need to protect and keep? Wishful thinking...
Today has rushed past, after the few minutes spent watching squirrels at breakfast time. I had a routine eye appointment (little change since last year, thankfully).  I caught up with Greek homework, for the evening class, more or less.  Then I picked Eben up from school for his swimming lesson. There were some difficult moments when I realised that Ruth and Josh had not left me a key out, to pick up his swimming kit. He suggested that we drive to Decathlon and get some more. Initially I was completely pessimistic about managing this in the time available, given heavy traffic, but he turned out to be right: we got there, scooped up the couple of things we needed and drove to the pool in time for the start of the lesson.
Then back home to log onto Zoom for Greek.  I'm really enjoying this term's work: although I still don't manage to fit in as much weekly practice as I really need, we are all making progress. Florendia (the tutor) just keeps us talking: however much we hesitate and fumble, her good humour keeps us going and it's making a real difference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.