horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Whisky Galore

The skies didn't give way to blue in quite the manner forecast, but that glowing yellow orb did make occasional appearances to give a hint of warmth in the cold air and headwind. When I realised I was off on Easter Monday (after my last workplace it's still a surprise to remember I get many of the bank holidays where I am now) I decided I was going to ride out to Glenkinchie Distillery. Given it's so close to Edinburgh I really should have visited before now...

Anyway, invited a few cycling buds along, and seven of us met up at Peter's Yard for coffee and cake before striking out. The route to the distillery was a little... meandering... But worth it for a reasonably entertaining tour, pretty good value at £7. That gave you a voucher for £3 off a bottle as well, and it would have been rude not to. And no point in getting the 'normal' stuff when you're at the distillery (given you can usually get it cheaper elsewhere), so I went for the Distiller's Edition - their normal Bourbon-casked 12 year old that is then given another 2 years in Sherry casks. It was rather pleasant in the tasting.

Then on to Gifford for a late lunch before a glorious mainly-downhill roll to the coast, then principally-tailwinded striking along the coast to bring up the half century of miles. Grand day out with some good company all in all.

Low point of the day: A dead otter by the roadside
Fun moment of the day: Bruce's greeting card doppelganger
Purpose of the day: Whisky!

No photos in the distillery as Diageo, who have owned the brand for about 20 years, are rather protective of their processes...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.