Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

66

So, I turned 66 today. I'm not big on celebrating birthdays, I mostly just take long walks and ruminate on the sad state of the world.

I took the 22-Fillmore to its terminus at Fillmore and Bay Street, then walked to and over the bridge from there. I have been listening to my second audiobook about Kathleen "Kick" Kennedy. I made the excellent decision today to listen to at 1.5x speed, so the longish walk gave me the opportunity to get through a big chunk of it. It's the second audiobook about her I've listened to (kind of an accident, really). True to Kennedy Family form, she died tragically at 28.

The walk took me past Yacht Harbor. I created a panorama of those Cypress trees during my first visit to San Francisco in 2006, and they still grab my attention every time I pass by them. I thought about checking out The Wave Organ, an acoustic sculpture at the east end of the narrow peninsula (or strand) that the trees (and the Saint Francis Yacht Club) are on, but it would have added close to forty-five minutes to my little trek. I didn't want to be deterred.

I walked along Golden Gate Beach as far as I could, then headed up the stairs that lead to the bridge. As I got closer, I considered walking only halfway across, but when I got to the halfway mark, I thought it was lame to not go all the way to the other side. So, I did. I didn't go to the visitor center, however, opting to basically turn around and head back.

When I got home, I ordered a pizza, walked the five or six blocks to pick it up, brought it home and ate some.

The end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.