Grey Heron

It was very cold this morning, I thought that the loch might be frozen over. When I approached the loch, it was much quieter there were no contractors around but the equipment was all there. Then I saw the young one flying over to me. She landed right in front of me on the path and followed me onto the grass. I had cut her pieces of fish into larger chunks as it would be quicker for her to eat and she is now well able to handle it. She was almost finished when she sensed something and went rigid. I looked around but could see nothing. A few moments later a woman came up behind us walking a greyhound on a leash. The young one flew back over to the loch and waited for me there. I went over and finished feeding her. The only bit she didn't get was a small bit I gave to the crow who reappeared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.