Grey Heron

When I got to the loch today the contractors had moved things up a gear! There was a large lorry full of black plastic pipes parked just at the point where I usually feed the young one. The engine was running and it was lit up like a Christmas tree with yellow lights flashing and contactors shouting instructions to each other. I thought that there was no way the young one would come anywhere near, but she flew right over and landed in front of me, albeit a good bit further away into the loch. I threw over her fish and she got most of it (a nippy coot got one bit). I was pretty much finished when I heard an enormous scraping noise from behind me. The young one was off as were all the other birds. When I turned round it was the contractors dragging the plastic pipes over the concrete path. Hopefully it will be quieter tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.