As near a feeding frenzy as cows produce

Whilst driving a back road from Bisley to Chalford running errands I saw these cattle surrounding this feeding trough in a field. I had to drive a further half a mile before I could turn around and then park by the adjacent disused barn (shown as an Extra).

I walked a short way along the road, having spotted the farmer sitting in his vehicle in the yard and I sensed it would be best to keep away. I was amused by the face of a cow emerging from the inside of the scrum, looking a bit put upon. I would have thought the farmer could break the bale of hay into small sections and spread it around for the cows to eat more easily. I wonder for what reason he didn't.

I went back to the farm yard on the public footpath and took the other picture. I like these old Cotswold stone barn and outbuildings, which are now mostly converted to homes or else abandoned. These farm buildings are not close to the main farm which I presume is Nash End farm, sited on the flat farm land above the stream flowing down the steep valley from Bisley to Eastcombe in what then becomes the Toadsmoor Valley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.