D77

By D77

The Statistics Unit*

Some snippets of conversations I've had at work this week:

Me: Can you spare a minute?
Boss: If it's quick.
Me: This is my formal letter of resignation.
Boss: I don't want it, give to HR.

Me: Can I give you my letter of resignation?
HR: No.
Me: Who should I give it to then?
HR: Your boss.

Me: Could you please accept my resignation so that HR can start sorting out my paperwork?
Dean: Why are you going to Egypt? It's really dirty, noisy, smelly and nobody is nice there.

Boss: So, are you going to Cairo then?
Me: Yup!
Boss: I knew someone who went there and got really ill.

Me: Can I have two croissants and a cup of coffee please?
Shell garage guy: Would you like ketchup?

Statistics Unit*: Can we have some extra time to upload the data due on Thursday?
Ministry: No. If you don't upload it on time, you will be fined a large amount of money and possibly go to jail.
Statistics Unit: Oh.

Today...

Dean: The Ministry has just called to warn me that if you don't upload the data they need by 2:30pm today, we will get a big fine.
Statistics Unit: The deadline is tomorrow and we've only just received the information we need from the college representatives.
Dean: The deadline has been moved and it needs to be done.

20,000 pieces of data, 19 error reports, 2 successful uploads and 2 can't-work-out-the-problem reports later...

Me: There are some problems with the error reports we received from you regarding the statistical data due in an hour.
Ministry: I will call you back in 5 minutes.

One hour later

Me: There are some problems with the error reports we received from you regarding the statistical data due in 5 minutes.
Ministry: I'm going home now so we'll do it on Saturday.
Me: No fine? No jail? No problem?
Ministry: Hahaha. No problem!



What a bunch of fandangos.



------
* The Statistics Unit comprises of a full time teacher with three free periods a week who can use Excel and has done a similar line of work in the past (me) and the college receptionist (the only other person in the college capable of doing more than two things at once).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.