tempus fugit

By ceridwen

On my walk

One of those  bright, bitter winter days when the westering sun illuminates the land against a bruise-coloured backdrop.

Extra: I made a curious discovery, or rather the dog did. She was nosing something beside the coast path - not badger poo this time but a fleshy object that I took at first to be the corpse a large pallid frog, but when I looked closer I saw  that it had suckers on what were not legs but tentacles. It was, or had been, a small octopus, probably caught or found dead  by a bird that had failed to cope with it. Raptors and  scavengers  often settle on the fence posts to consume their prey but this one would not have proved easy to swallow.

 Octopi/puses/podes (chose your plural) are not uncommon in our Welsh waters. Here's a live one I photographed at our local aquarium.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.