Further experiment in mono

I submitted a mono image of one of the pink lilies to a competition. It was very pale against a white cloth and a couple of the flower tips were virtually indistinguishable from the background, particularly by the time I'd converted it to mono. It did ok, but I guess if I'd sorted those things out it would have done a little better than OK. So I decided that while the white lily's were still flowering I might photograph a flower against a black background and explore a more distinct contrast between the two. (Reminder to self - buy a piece of velveteen material to do this with.) I'm also trying to teach myself to use layer masks more effectively at the moment, so I've been having a bit of a play this evening.

I'm behind with comments again though I'm afraid.

If you asked me what I'd done today I'm not sure I could tell you - a bit of this and that for my brother, written an invoice, sorted out images for the next club competition. Things like that! It's been cold and dull for most of the day and I haven't been out. Oh and I cooked our evening meal and very good it was too - venison stew. See photograph last Friday. The Venison Farm Shop is not far away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.