DDW

By DDW

A Foretaste ...

Phew.  After a hectic, disorganized day we managed to load the truck with yet another assortment of boxes, bags, and packages and head off to Maine at around 3:00 this afternoon.  We didn't get here to our new home until 7:00 p.m.!  The traffic was horrendous, and it was also raining. 

We had to wait until 3:00, because Mabel had an appointment at the groomers, and boy! did she need one.  The plan was to load the truck once the groomers called to say Mabel was ready to be picked up.  Then we'd go collect her, and then drive directly to Boothbay Harbor.  As the boxes were being loaded, I realized I couldn't find my eyeglass case, and thought perhaps I'd left it back in the apartment.  Up I went to search, but with no success.  When I returned to the lobby, the elevator doors opened, and then the fire alarm started shrieking.  I just kept going out, got into the truck, and off we drove ... hoping the alarm was a false one (as they usually are).  As we navigated the Boston streets, I realized that Mr. W seemed to be heading for the Interstate without our Mabel ... I asked him if he was taking some clever shortcut to the groomer, but no -- he'd forgotten her!!!!!!  Whatever next????

Anyway, here are some very festive Christmas lights decorating the entrance to Boothbay Harbor -- all part of the "Gardens Aglow" celebration held here each winter.  (More blips about that coming up soon.)

PS:  We got word that the fire alarm was set off by some ninny who'd dumped a large bag of construction debris down the trash chute, which "exploded" when it landed in the basement, sending out clouds of dust and other things which set off the alarm.  Good news -- the building still stands unscathed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.