HOW long?!?

Latest fad/hobby/interest/passtime - Lacto-fermentation &/or pickling/bottling.
All under the one Umbrella of "Preserving".

"When Ah waz a lad~ ~ ~"
I remember Mother, and Mam, probably "before my time" Mother taught Mam, as parents did, to preserve veg. etc.  

Eggs were "laid down" under a solution of ????-glass. 
WHY ??? you ask.  Simply because I have NO idea whether the appropriate prefix is "Water"  OR "Ising".  
If you want to check:- This is a quite short read on the subject.  
I also remember them placing/packing wide-necked Jars into what seemed to a sprog to be a HUGE black pan, bringing them to the boil then capping them while still hot.  Mother/Mam referred to it as "Bottling", them-over-there seem to call it "Canning" I have yet to ascertain if they use Cans though.
ANYWAY:-
I thought I'd give it a whirl.  Having just checked elsewhere I can vouch for the Toms having been in there for over four months now.

There's a bit of a foggy area between "Pickling" which I always thought involved Vinegar and "Lacto-fermentation" which seems to employ Brine of a strength appropriate to the item(s) to be pickled.

Up yonder you can see, left---> right:-
Lacto-fermenting "Chinese Artichokes" and, would you believe, skinless Watermelon rind. Just done today.
Lacto-fermented Garlic, centre-stage is the same "age" as the Bottled, four-month old tomatoes.

I might make some tomato soup twixt Christmas & New year.


:-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.